Connecting to Partner Apps(iOS)

This article provides answers to the most commonly asked questions about connecting the UP App to Partner Apps. Click a question below or browse the entire article to learn more hints and tips.


What is an API?

An API (application programming interface) is a process that allows two software components (or in this case, apps) to talk to each other. The UP API lets you connect your UP experience with other apps that you may use.


Which apps can I connect to at this time?

You can currently connect to Withings, Runkeeper, MapMyFitness, MyFitnessPal, IFTTT, LoseIt!, Wello, Notch.me, Maxwell Health, and Sleepio.

We’ll be adding additional partners in the coming months.


Which devices support Partner App connections?

The App Gallery is currently only accessible to iOS users, but Android Support will be coming shortly.


Where in the UP app can I view the available Partner Apps?


What if I don't want my teammates to see the Partner App data, how do I disable sharing?


How do I delete the connection between the UP App and a Partner App?


How does Jawbone protect my privacy?

Jawbone believes your data belongs to you. We take the responsibility of protecting your data and privacy seriously. You can control which information gets shared with your teammates, and which information you share with Partner Apps, through the app connections. You can read more about our data privacy policy here.


I’m unable to connect my UP account to a particular Partner App, what should I do?

First, make sure you are running the most recent version of the UP App, and have the Partner App installed on your device. Then, force quit the UP App, and attempt to reconnect. If you continue to experience issues, please contact Jawbone Customer Support.


If one of the Partner Apps isn't working properly, who should I contact for help?

While we would be more than happy to speak to you, we suggest contacting our partners directly for a quicker resolution.


If I log out of a Partner App, does it keep my information in the UP App?

Initiating a connection with an app enables data to flow between the UP App and our partners. Deleting this connection stops the flow of new data. Data which has already been exchanged, remains in the system and can continue to appear in the App.


How many apps can I connect to at one time?

There is no limit to how many Partner Apps you can connect to.


Will any of my UP data be available to the Partner Apps?

If you initiate a shared connection with a Partner App, you're giving that specific app permission to read and modify your UP data. Each app has its own set of permissions, which are visible to you when you initiate the connection. If you agree, the connection will proceed. If you disagree with the permissions request, the connection will not occur, and no data will be shared.